Level 1 of the CFA® Program



This is the first course of the CFA® programme. It offers an in-depth look into the investment world and is perfect for those currently working in the field who want to improve and grow their analytical skills or for those who have a passion to understand the financial markets from a theoretical and practical perspective. Together with focusing on asset valuation, corporate finance and portfolio management the course introduces you to the Code of Ethical Behaviour and Professional Conduct which is adhered to in all business and investment areas. On completion of the CFA qualification you will be amongst the leading few of respected investment professionals. Completing Level 1 gains you entrance to Level 2.



Entrance requirement

A bachelor’s degree or equivalent, or

be in the final year of your bachelor’s degree, or

have four years of professional work experience and

have a valid international passport (This will need to be presented when sitting the exam. CFA does not recognise your country’s internal ID.)


This course can be completed in 6 -12 months.


• Financial Reporting and Analysis 

• Ethical and Professional Standards 

• Quantitative Methods of Investment Analysis and Management 

• Economics 

• Corporate Investments 

• Fixed Income 

• Equity Investments 

• Derivatives 

• Portfolio Management 


This course is examined in June and December and consists of a six hour multiple choice exam. Each level is examined individually, you will need to have completed the previous level before registering for the next exam. As this is an international programme the exams are in English only and can be sat at an exam centre near you.

Your will need a Admissions ticket to be elegable to write the exam. This ticket is issued and available from www.cfainstitute.org and you will have to be a registered student with the CFA Institute to be able to apply for a ticket. Please note that students can only register with CFA on www.cfainstitute.org.

CFA does not have a set minimum passing score (MPS), the CFA Institute Board of Governers meets to determine the MPS for each and every exam paper.


On completion of all three levels and four years professional work experience you will become a Charterholder and be awarded the CFA designation.

* CFA Institute does not endorse, promote or warrant the accuracy or quality of South African College of Business. CFA® and Chartered Financial Analyst® are registered trademarks owned by CFA Institute.


Home Study Online Classroom Evening Classes
R7,950.00 null null
Enrol »

* Please note that study fees exclude Institute fees such as membership fees, registration fees, annual fees, exam fees and exemption fees. There are no Institute fees for SACOB Short Courses.

SACOB Accreditations and Affiliations

0002 0003 0004 0005 0007 0008 0009

site by GenSix Digital